Berrien Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Watches & Warnings

High Wind Warning
Issued: 1:11 PM CST Feb. 23, 2019 – National Weather Service

... High Wind Warning in effect from 7 am EST /6 am CST/ Sunday to
1 am EST /midnight CST/ Monday...


Hazardous weather...

* sustained west winds of 35 to 40 mph, with frequent gusts of
   50 mph are expected to start early Sunday morning and persist
   into the evening hours of Sunday.

* Periods of sustained winds to 45 mph and wind gusts to 60 mph
   are also expected, especially during the day Sunday.

Impacts...

* downed tree limbs and small trees could block roads and lead
   to power outages as well as cause minor structural damage.

* Driving in high profile vehicles, especially on north-south
   roads could become hazardous.

* Unsecured outdoor objects will be blown around.


Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A High Wind Warning means a hazardous high wind event is expected
or occurring. Sustained wind speeds of at least 40 mph or gusts
of 58 mph or more can lead to property damage.